Men's Lax Places Five on Skyline All-Conference Second-Team

Men's Lax Places Five on Skyline All-Conference Second-Team

Skyline Release

New York, NY| Declan Canevari, Casey Hickey, Tommy Johnson, Zak Jones and Christian Prate of the St. Joseph's College (L.I.) men's lacrosse team all appeared on the Skyline Men's Lacrosse All-Conference Second-Team when the conference released its annual award winners on its website on Monday afternoon.

Hickey led the Golden Eagles in goals (28), assists (17) and points (45) in 2018 and ranked fifth in the conference in assists-per-game (1.31). The senior was also fourth in the conference in shots-per-game (7.62).

Sophomore Zak Jones and senior Tommy Johnson occupied midfield spots on the Second-Team. Jones went for 26 goals, 13 assists and 39 points in 2018 while Johnson, a long stick midfielder, led the team and was fourth in the conference in caused turnovers-per-game (1.46).

Canevari, a sophomore faceoff specialist, won a total of 163 faceoffs this season, was fifth in the conference in faceoff winning percentage (.657) and was second in ground balls per-game (6.62).

On defense, Prate, a junior, picked up an All-Conference nod in his first season at SJC after arriving from Suffolk County Community College. The West Islip, NY native was third on the team and 13th in the conference in caused turnovers-per-game.

In its second-ever season, the men's lacrosse team produced a 7-6 record and failed to qualify for the Skyline Conference Championship. SJC wrapped its season with a 12-2 win over Purchase on April 23.

2018 Skyline Conference Men's Lacrosse All-Conference Team

First Team
A – Pat Coll, USMMA (Sr., Clifton Pk., N.Y.)
*** A – Matt DeMeo, Maritime (Fr., Sayville, N.Y.)
A – Nick Pellegrino, Maritime (Sr., Melville, N.Y.)
* A – Nick Treon, USMMA (Sr., Danville, Pa.)
M – Dylan De Meo, Mount Saint Mary (Sr., Franklin Sq., N.Y.)
M – James Ragland, Farmingdale State (Jr., Seaford, N.Y.)
M – Nick Roros, USMMA (So., Northport, N.Y.)
D – Mark Buchner, Maritime (So., Wantagh, N.Y.)
D – Nick Perrone, Farmingdale State (Sr., Northport, N.Y.)
D – Nick Vinberg, USMMA (So., Massapequa Pk., N.Y.)
G – Brendan McNally, Maritime (Sr., Long Beach, N.Y.)
** LSM – Nick Capone, Farmingdale State (Sr., W. Islip, N.Y.)
LSM – James Fitzgerald, Mount Saint Vincent (Sr., Cortlandt Manor, N.Y.)
SSDM – Lane Schmidt, USMMA (Jr., North East, Md.)
FO – Kyle Buser, USMMA (Fr., Babylon, N.Y.)
Second Team
A – Tristan Earle, Mount Saint Mary (Sr., Millrift, Pa.)
A – Casey Hickey, St. Joseph's-L.I. (Sr., E. Quogue, N.Y.)
A – Jack Renard, USMMA (Jr., San Clemente, Calif.)
M – Dylan Gethicker, Purchase (Jr., Lime Lake, N.Y.)
M – Zak Jones, St. Joseph's-L.I. (So., E. Quogue, N.Y.)
M – Danny Kugler, Mount Saint Mary (Sr., Wappingers Falls, N.Y.)
D – Danny Marshall, Mount Saint Mary (Fr., Oceanside, N.Y.)
D – Matthew Martino, Mount Saint Mary (Fr., Watertown, Conn.)
D – Christian Prate, St. Joseph's-L.I. (Jr., W. Islip, N.Y.)
G – Dan Wood, Farmingdale State  (Jr., E. Meadow, N.Y.)
LSM – Tommy Johnson, St. Joseph's-L.I. (Sr., Eastport, N.Y.)
SSDM – Bryan Keegan, Maritime (Fr., Lake Grove, N.Y.)
FO – Declan Canevari, St. Joseph's-L.I. (So., Lake Grove, N.Y.)

* Offensive Player of the Year: Nick Treon, USMMA
** Defensive Player of the Year: Nick Capone, Farmingdale State
*** Rookie of the Year: Matt DeMeo, Maritime
Coach of the Year: Daniel Lawrence, Maritime (ninth season)