Canevari, Nielsen and Prate Earn Skyline MLAX All-Conference Nods

Canevari, Nielsen and Prate Earn Skyline MLAX All-Conference Nods

Skyline Release

New York, NY| Senior Christian Prate of the St. Joseph's College (L.I.) men's lacrosse team became only the second player in program history to earn Skyline All-Conference First-Team honors when the conference released its end-of-season men's lacrosse awards on Monday afternoon.

In addition, juniors Declan Canevari and Chris Nielsen secured All-Conference Second-Team accolades.

Prate, a Second-Team selection in 2018, was second on the team and third in the conference in caused turnovers (30) and eighth in the conference in ground balls-per-game (4.33) in 2019. The defender was credited with 62 total ground balls and was 13-34 on faceoffs.

Canevari graces the Second-Team for the second year running and led the Skyline Conference was a .657 faceoff percentage. The junior was third in total faceoff wins (140) and scored a career-best four goals on the year.

Nielsen scored 23 goals this season and led the Golden Eagles in assists (23) and total points (46). The midfielder finished seventh in the conference in assists-per-game (1.53) and was credited with 26 ground balls on the year.

St. Joseph's qualified for the Skyline Conference Championship for the first time in its three-year history but was defeated 17-6 by eventual champion SUNY Maritime in the first round on May 1.

2019 Skyline Conference Men's Lacrosse All-Conference Team

First Team

Liam Connors, A - USMMA
Matt DeMeo, A - Maritime
Jack Renard, A - USMMA
AJ Sandorfi, A - Farmingdale State
Michael Rodriguez, M - USMMA
Nick Roros, M - USMMA
Brett Trodden, M - Maritime
Jason Aiello, D - USMMA
Mark Buchner, D - Maritime
Matthew Martine, D - Mount Saint Mary
Christian Prate, D - St. Joseph's-L.I.
Dan Panzarino, LSM - Farmingdale State
John McMahon, SSDM - Farmingdale State
Kevin Buser, FO - Maritime
Charley Hughes, FO - USMMA
Dan Wood, GK - Farmingdale State

Second Team

Mike Leake, A - Maritime
Dan Ohrem, A - Purchase
Jake Satterley, A - Farmingdale State
Bryan Keean, M - Maritime
Chris Nielsen, M - St. Joseph's-L.I.
James Ragland, M - Farmingdale State
Brady Fahy, D - Purchase
Danny Marshall, D - Mount Saint Mary
Matthew Martino, D - Mount Saint Mary
Brett Boisits, LSM - Maritime
Lane Schmidt, SSDM - USMMA
Declan Canevari, FO - St. Joseph's-L.I.
Christian Brody, GK - Mount Saint Vincent
Justin Weigold, GK - Maritime

Offensive Player of the Year: Matt DeMeo, Maritime
Defensive Player of the Year: Mark Buchner, Maritime
Rookie of the Year: Kevin Buser, Maritime
Coach of the Year: Justin Manjares, Maritime (first season)