Softball Collects Skyline End-of-Season Awards

Softball Collects Skyline End-of-Season Awards

Skyline Release

New York, NY| Five members of the St. Joseph's College (L.I.) softball team, including Rookie of the Year Jenna DeFina, collected Skyline All-Conference honors when the conference released its end of season awards on Monday afternoon.

Additionally, head coach Lisa Jusino was named Coach of the Year for the second-straight season.

DeFina, a First-Team selection and the program's first Rookie of the Year selection since 2004, led the conference in stolen bases (32) and broke the program's single-season record. The outfielder also led the Skyline in runs (31), was second in hits (51) and third in batting average (.447).

Joining DeFina on the First-Team was sophomore first baseman Kassandra Tibbetts and freshman hurler Catherine Zucker. Tibbetts was second in the conference in slugging percentage (.674), doubles (12) and home runs (3) and was fourth in batting average (.430) and on-base percentage (.505).

Zucker was fifth in the conference in wins and posted a 7-5 record with the fourth-best ERA (2.56) in the Skyline.  

Senior third baseman Lyndsay Smocer and sophomore catcher Lindsay Ness were Second-Team selections and rounded out SJC's honored playing contingent. Smocer was a First-Team selection at shortstop last season and was third on the team with a .375 batting average in 2019. Her 19 RBI's were third-best on the team.

Ness hit .327 and drove in a team-high 22 runs. The catcher was credited with 36 hits, 10 runs and seven doubles, second only to Tibbetts' 12.

In her fourth season at the helm of the program, Jusino's team posted a 20+ win season for the fourth-straight year (20-15). The second seed in the Skyline Conference Championship with a 13-3 conference mark, SJC was defeated on day two of the double-elimination portion of the tournament on May 4.

2019 Skyline Conference Softball All-Conference Team

 First Team

C - Allana Alioto-Reyes, Mount Saint Vincent
1B - Kassandra Tibbetts, St. Joseph's-Long Island
2B - Julianna Prescia, Farmingdale State
SS - Emily Lang, Mount Saint Mary 
3B - Ashleigh Hartwig, St. Joseph's-Brooklyn
3B - Sierra Cardenales, Farmingdale State
OF - Jenna DeFina, St. Joseph's-Long Island
OF - Kelly Hayes, Purchase
OF - Victoria Mahoney, St. Joseph's-Brooklyn
OF - Priscilla Rivera, Farmingdale State
UT - Jessica Mecham, St. Joseph's-Brooklyn
P - Bridget Bennett, Mount Saint Mary
P - Madeleine Smith, Farmingdale State
P - Catherine Zucker, St. Joseph's-Long Island

Second Team

C - Lindsay Ness, St. Joseph's-Long Island
1B - Katie Moos, Mount Saint Vincent
2B - Sophia Herrera, Mount Saint Vincent
SS - Alexis Buchanan, St. Joseph's-Brooklyn
3B - Lyndsay Smocer, St. Joseph's-Long Island
OF - Lexie Collard, Farmingdale State
OF - Tiffany McBrayer, Sarah Lawrence
OF - Breeze-Lyn Morita, Mount Saint Vincent
UT - Kelly Agostini, Purchase
P - Jaxie Collard, Farmingdale State
P - Baylie Nguyen, Sarah Lawrence

Player of the Year: Ashleigh Hartwig, St. Joseph's-Brooklyn
Pitcher of the Year: Madeleine Smith, Farmingdale State
Rookie of the Year: Jenna DeFina, St. Joseph's-Long Island
Coach of the Year: Lisa Jusino, St. Joseph's-Long Island