Softball’s Tibbetts and DeFina Garner All-ECAC Recognition

Softball’s Tibbetts and DeFina Garner All-ECAC Recognition

ECAC Release

Danbury, CT| Sophomore Kassandra Tibbetts and freshman Jenna DeFina of the St. Joseph's College (L.I.) softball team earned All-ECAC honors when the Eastern Collegiate Athletic Conference released its end-of-season softball awards last week.

Tibbetts, a Skyline All-Conference First-Team honoree at first base, became the first Golden Eagle to appear on the All-ECAC First-Team since Mallory McClafferty in 2016.

The sophomore was second in the conference in slugging percentage (.674), doubles (12) and home runs (3) and was fourth in batting average (.430) and on-base percentage (.505). She led the team in both RBI's (22) and fielding percentage (.989).

DeFina's All-ECAC Honorable Mention nod was her second regional honor of the year having previously appeared on the NFCA All-Region Second-Team earlier in May.

An All-ECAC selection as an outfielder, DeFina led the Skyline Conference in stolen bases (32) and broke the program's single-season record. The outfielder also led the Skyline in runs (31), was second in hits (51) and third in on-base percentage (.505).

A Skyline All-Conference First-Team honoree and the conference's Rookie of the Year, DeFina led the Golden Eagles in at-bats (114), hits, runs, batting average, and on-base percentage and was second in total bases (53).

The SJC softball team finished the regular season with a 13-3 Skyline record and qualified for the conference championship tournament as the second seed. After topping Mt. St. Mary 7-2 on day one the Golden Eagles were eliminated after dropping consecutive contests on day two.

ECAC Division III Softball Major Awards and All-ECAC Selections
Player of the Year
Vada Blue Sherrill– Pfeiffer University, Sr.
Pitcher of the Year
Aarin Hartenstein – Manhattanville College, Sr.
Rookie of the Year
Giovanna Liggett – Manhattanville College, Fr.
Coach of the Year
Margie Acker – Kean University
All-ECAC First Team*
First Base: Jackie Schneider – Neumann University, Sr.
First Base: Kassandra Tibbetts – St. Joseph's College Long Island, So.
Second Base: Allyson Weiss – Franciscan University, So.
Third Base: Giovanna Liggett – Manhattanville College, Fr.
Designated Player: Camille Sears – Albright College, Jr.
Shortstop: Vada Blue Sherill – Pfeiffer University, Jr.
Outfield: Alexandra Schell – Cabrini University, Jr.
Outfield: Marissa Varela – Alfred State College, Fr.
Outfield: Caroline Ratti – Kean University, Sr.
Outfield: Veronica DeStefano – Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, Jr.
Outfield: Alexis Ventarola – Manhattanville College, Grad Student.
Catcher: Kate Korte – Neumann University, Jr.
Catcher: Evonne Torres – Manhattanville College, Sr.
Utility: Grace Sperrazza – Neumann University, Jr.
Pitcher: Jacqueline Riley – Kean University, Sr.
Pitcher: AJ Nichols – Penn State Behrend, Sr.
Pitcher: Kiana Millsaps – Pfeiffer University, Sr.
Pitcher: Aarin Hartenstein – Manhattanville College, Sr.

All-ECAC Honorable Mention
First Base: Alexandra Cosenzo – Stockton University, Jr.
Second Base: Gabby Young – FDU-Florham, Jr.
Second Base: Carli Egan – Ramapo College, So.
Second Base: Courtney Deloughery – Centenary University, So.
Second Base: Desiree Duboi – Manhattanville College, Sr.
Third Bas: Alysiah Cintron – Cabrini University, So.
Third Base: Sierra Cardenales –Farmingdale State College, Sr.
Third Base: Casey Schieda – Stockton University, Sr.
Third Base: Abby Showers –  Penn State Altoona, Jr.
Designated Player: Miranda Bohn – Misericordia University, Fr.
Shortstop: Erin Stephy – Stevenson University, Sr.
Outfield: Priscilla Rivera – Farmingdale State College, Fr.
Outfield: Gabrielle Huezo – Baruch College, Sr.
Outfield: Olivia Zengel – Kean University, Sr.
Outfield: Jenna DeFina – St. Joseph's College – Long Island, Fr.
Outfield: Carson Hauser – Penn State Behrend, Sr.
Outfield: Alyssa Shedlock – Juniata College, Jr.
Catcher: Michele Winn – Clarkson University, Jr.
Utility: Julie Raba – Kean University, So.
Pitcher: Grace Stairiker – Cabrini University, Fr.
Pitcher: Jessica Wilcox – Alfred University, Jr.  
Pitcher: Jen Sieminski – Neumann University, Jr.
Pitcher: Erin Fitzsimmons – Ramapo College, Sr.
Pitcher: Maggie Swan – New York University, Fr.
Pitcher: Allison Melahn – Albright College, Fr.
Pitcher: Kristie Alvarez – Marywood University, Sr.