Andrea Iavarone Named Skyline Conference Player of the Year

Andrea Iavarone Named Skyline Conference Player of the Year

Skyline Release

New York, NY| Senior Andrea of the Iavarone of the St. Joseph's College (L.I.) women's basketball team was voted Skyline Conference Player of the Year when the conference office released its end-of-season women's basketball awards on Monday morning.

Also selected to the Skyline All-Conference First-Team for the third-straight season, Iavarone led the conference in total points (521), points-per-game (20.8), total rebounds (420), rebounds-per-game (16.8), total blocks (60), blocks-per-game (2.4), field goal percentage (53.9%) and free throw percentage (80.4) during the 2017-18 season.

As of Monday morning, Iavarone still ranked third in the nation in total rebounds and rebounds-per-game and 16th and 24th, respectively, in points-per-game and total points.

A sparkling season from top to bottom, Iavarone collected multiple weekly honors throughout 2017-18 including having been named USBWA Division III National Player of the Week on January 30. The Miller Place, NY native was the first player in program and Skyline Conference history to earn the award.

Additional weekly accolades included Team of the Week (3x), MBWA Division II-III Player of the Week (Jan. 30), ECAC Metro Player of the Week (2x), Skyline Conference Player of the Week (4x), MBWA Divisions II-III Weekly Honorable Mention (4x) and Skyline Conference Weekly Honor Roll (3x).

Iavarone, a four-year Golden Eagle, graduates first all-time in career points (1,510) and second in career rebounds (1,112). The forward also owns single-season records for rebounds, rebounds-per-game, field-goal percentage, free throw percentage and blocks.

2017-18 Skyline Conference Women's Basketball All-Conference Team

First Team
Essence Casey, Farmingdale State (Sr., F; Huntington Station, N.Y.)
Kaleigh D'Arcy, U.S. Merchant Marine Academy (So., G; White Plains, N.Y.)
* Andrea Iavarone, St. Joseph's-Long Island (Sr., F; Miller Place, N.Y.)
Amber Jones, Purchase (Jr., G; Bronx, N.Y.)
Charlotte Renker, Old Westbury (Jr., C; Mineola, N.Y.)
Jessica Rini, Mount Saint Mary (Sr., F; Seaford, N.Y.)
Second Team
Kayla Cleare, Mount Saint Mary (Jr., C; West Hempstead, N.Y.)
** Monique Joseph, Old Westbury (Jr., G/F; Elmont, N.Y.)
Kelly Oliver, Mount Saint Vincent (Jr., G; Carmel, N.Y.)
*** Kelly O'Donnell, St. Joseph's-Brooklyn (Fr., G; Brooklyn, N.Y.)
Kaelyn Ward, Farmingdale State (Sr., G; East Hampton, N.Y.)

* Player of the Year: Andrea Iavarone, St. Joseph's-Long Island
** Defensive Player of the Year: Monique Joseph, Old Westbury
*** Rookie of the Year: Kelly O'Donnell, St. Joseph's-Brooklyn
Coach of the Year: Michael Coppolino, Mount Saint Mary (Eckerd '07 - fourth season)