Iavarone Tabbed ECAC Player of the Year

Iavarone Tabbed ECAC Player of the Year

ECAC Release

Danbury, CT| After rewriting the program's record book in 2017-18, senior forward Andrea Iavarone of the St. Joseph's College (L.I.) women's basketball team was named Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC) Player of the Year on Thursday morning.

Iavarone, the first player in program history to earn the honor, becomes ECAC's Player of the Year a week after being named Skyline Conference Player of the Year. The three-time Skyline All-Conference First-Team member topped the conference and ranks third in NCAA Division III with 420 rebounds, and her 19 double-doubles--good for eighth in the nation--came on the heels of posting conference-leading averages in points (20.8) rebounds (16.8).

In 2017-18, her 521 points made her SJC's all-time leading scorer (1,510), and her 1,112 career rebounds saw her finish second all-time. The All-ECAC First-Team selection and two-time ECAC Metro Player of the Week also owns single-season records for rebounds, rebounds-per-game, field-goal percentage, free throw percentage and blocks.

Additional weekly honors the forward received in 2017-18 include USBWA Division III National Player of the Week, D3Hoops.com Team of the Week (3x), MBWA Division II-III Player of the Week (Jan. 30), Skyline Conference Player of the Week (4x), MBWA Divisions II-III Weekly Honorable Mention (4x) and Skyline Conference Weekly Honor Roll (3x).

ECAC Division III Women's Basketball Major Awards and All-ECAC Selections
Player of the Year
Andrea Iavarone – St. Joseph's College (LI), Sr.
Rookie of the Year
Taylor George – Brooklyn College, Fr.
Coach of the Year
Jina DeRubbo – Washington & Jefferson College
All-ECAC First Team
Dani Reinwald – Medaille College, Sr.
Kendrea Williams – Fairleigh Dickinson University-Florham, So.
Sasha Williams – Stockton University, Sr.
Kaitlyn Read – New York University, GS.
Andrea Iavarone – St. Joseph's College (LI), Sr.
All-ECAC Second Team
Shannon Barrett – Baruch College, Sr.
Gabrielle Harris – Fairleigh Dickinson University-Florham, So.
Najha Treadwell – Stockton University, Sr.
Lexie Arkwright – Grove City College, Sr.
Brandi Vallely – Muhlenberg College, Sr.
All-ECAC Honorable Mention
Nafisa Saunders – Neumann University, So.
Nomi Washington – Cabrini University, Jr.
Gab Giordano – Marywood University, Jr.
Meghan Matthews – Cabrini University, So.